This wasn’t even fun: Covered Bridges Half Marathon

There comes a time in a runner’s life when everything sucks. This time was last Sunday at the Covered Bridges Half Marathon in Vermont. Why did it suck so much? Because it was so damn hot. And we were not used to it. The weekend prior was so cold that we had to delay our Martha’s Vineyard trip by a day and were even concerned our new summer sleeping bags would do their jobs. Hell, it snowed up in New Hampshire! A week later we found ourselves with over 90 degrees and insane humidity.

We had signed up for that race back in December and it sold out in 14 minutes. We were right there when registration opened, at 2 different computers, ready to hit the sign up button. So yes, it’s popular. And we all got in: Matt, his father, his uncle and I. I was excited. This was Vermont, running over covered bridges through beautiful scenery in my fourth half marathon this year. I knew it would be rough when I heard other runners say: You know this is going to be a hard race when you’re at the start sweating like hell before the gun has even gone off. But I still tried. After a few miles, I was ready to drop out. But where was I gonna go? I was 10 miles from the finish. So I had to keep going. And it was hard. Really hard.

While running, questions went through my head: Why am I doing this? Why the torture? I paid money for this? It was painful. I ran, I walked, I sweated. I never walk during a race. This was epic failure for me and not just for me. The only thing that kept me going was the fact that I would be done at some point, and that there was beer waiting for us. Despite the suffering, running over the first covered bridge was awesome. Cheering crowds. Other runners telling you that you could do it. Bands playing on the course. Supporters with hoses spraying you (most refreshing thing ever). We all came in below expectations and Matt’s uncle Karl had the best quote of the day: This wasn’t even fun. I’m not going to post any finishing times because I’m embarrassed. Two more medals added to our ever-growing medal collection, for sure with special memories. The next race will be better. It has to be.

1

The pre-suffering crew: Father Ted, Eva, Uncle Karl, Matt

Es kommt eine Zeit im Leben eines Läufers, wenn alles scheiße ist. Für uns war das letzten Sonntag beim Covered Bridges Halbmarathon in Vermont. Warum es so scheiße war? Weil es so scheißheiß war. Und wir waren es nicht gewohnt. Am Wochenende vorher war es so kalt, dass wir unseren Ausflug nach Martha’s Vineyard um einen Tag verschieben mussten und sogar Bedenken hatten, ob unsere neuen Sommerschlafsäcke reichen würden. Mein Gott, in New Hampshire gab’s sogar Schnee! Eine Woche später war es dann über 30 Grad und extrem schwül.

Wir hatten uns für den Lauf im Dezember angemeldet und er war innerhalb von 14 Minuten ausverkauft. Wir waren da, als die Anmeldung begann, an zwei verschiedenen Computern, bereit auf den Anmeldebutton zu klicken. Also ja, der Lauf ist begehrt. Und wir konnten uns alle anmelden: Matt, sein Vater, sein Onkel und ich. Ich hatte mich drauf gefreut. Hier ging es um Vermont, wo man über gedeckte Brücken und in schöner Landschaft lief, mein vierter Halbmarathon dieses Jahr. Ich wusste, dass es anstrengend werden würde, als ich andere Läufer sagen hörte: Man weiß, dass das ein schwieriges Rennen wird, wenn man am Start schon schwitzt wie Sau, bevor der Startschuss überhaupt gefallen ist. Ich versuchte es aber trotzdem. Nach ein paar Meilen wollte ich aufhören. Aber wo sollte ich denn hin? Ich war 16 km von der Ziellinie entfernt. Also musste ich weiter. Und es war schwer. Sauschwer.

Während ich lief, gingen mir Fragen durch den Kopf: Warum mache ich das? Warum quäle ich mich? Und dafür hab ich Geld bezahlt? Es war mühsam. Ich lief, ich ging, ich schwitzte. Ich gehe nie während eines Laufs. Das war eine große Niederlage für mich und nicht nur für mich. Das einzige, was mich antrieb, war die Tatsache, dass ich irgendwann fertig sein würde und dass Bier auf uns wartete. Trotz der Qual war es echt cool, über die erste bedeckte Brücke zu laufen. Man wurde angefeuert. Andere Läufer riefen einem zu, dass man es schaffen könne. Bands spielten auf der Strecke. Man wurde mit Schläuchen abgespritzt (beste Erfrischung überhaupt). Wir kamen alle langsamer durchs Ziel als erwartet und Matts Onkel Karl hatte das beste Zitat des Tages: Das hat noch nicht mal Spaß gemacht. Ich erwähne hier keine Endzeiten, weil mir das peinlich ist. Zwei weitere Medaillen für unsere stets wachsende Sammlung, mit besonderen Erinnerungen. Der nächste Lauf wird besser. Das muss er sein.

Post suffering. Luckily, there was beer.

Post suffering. Luckily, there was beer.

Two more for the wall of fame/shame

Two more for the wall of fame/shame

Leave a Reply

