Welcome To Ass-Cold Chicago

My first trip in 2014 took me to Chicago at the end of January. The last time I went there was in 2001 during my semester abroad in college. I remember standing with my feet in Lake Michigan. This year, I couldn’t even think of dipping my toe in the lake. It was cold. Very cold.

Chicago had been deeply hit by the polar vortex and one of the coldest winters it had seen for decades. I arrived with a view of a partially frozen Lake Michigan from the plane. Temperatures were around the freezing point, about 32 degrees. The warmest day of the year, I was told. Little did I know what to expect for the following days.

The temperatures kept dropping. And the wind got stronger. I kept checking my phone to see how low it would go. -10 Fahrenheit during the day. It was just a different definition of cold and made me appreciate Boston. We ran a race on January 4th in Massachusetts where the starting temperature was 9 Fahrenheit. I thought my lungs were going to explode. Try 19 degrees colder in Chicago.

It was certainly an experience. The sun was out the entire time with clear blue skies. A frozen Chicago River, frozen eyelashes, and limbs in pain. Schools were closed along with some restaurants – due to extreme weather. Along with the weather, highlights of the trip included the Signature Room on the 95th floor of the Hancock Tower and the Ledge at Skydeck Chicago, a free-hanging glass box at the Willis Tower where you find yourself standing 1,353 feet “in the air” above Chicago…

Outdoor activities were just not a top priority for that trip.

Lake Michigan

Frozen/Gefrorener Lake Michigan

Mein erste Reise 2014 brachte mich Ende Januar nach Chicago. Das letzte Mal war ich dort während meines Auslandsemesters an der Uni. Ich stand mit den Füßen im Lake Michigan. Dieses Jahr hätte ich noch nicht mal mit einem Zeh ins Wasser gehen können. Es war kalt. Sehr kalt.

Chicago hatte es mit dem Polarwirbel und einem der kältesten Winter seit Jahrzehnten besonders getroffen. Vom Flugzeug aus konnte ich den teilweise gefrorenen Lake Michigan sehen. Die Temperaturen lagen um dem Gefrierpunkt, ca. 0°C. Der wärmste Tag des Jahres wurde mir gesagt. Wie wenig wusste ich, was in den nächsten Tagen auf mich zukommen würde.

Die Temperaturen fielen weiter. Und der Wind wurde stärker. Ich schaute ständig auf mein Handy, um zu sehen, wie weit runter sie gehen würden. -23°C tagsüber. Es war einfach eine andere Definition von kalt und mir wurde klar, wie gut wir es in Boston haben. Am 4. Januar waren wir bei -13°C bei einem 5km-Lauf in Massachusetts mitgelaufen. Ich dachte, meine Lunge würde platzen. Und dann noch mal 10°C kälter in Chicago.

Es war echt ein Erlebnis. Die Sonne war die ganze Zeit draußen mit strahlend blauem Himmel. Ein gefrorener Chicago River, eingefrorene Wimpern und schmerzende Körperteile. Die Schulen wurden geschlossen und dazu noch einige Restaurants – weil das Wetter so extrem war. Zusammen mit dem Wetter waren die Höhepunkte des Trips noch das Signature Room im 95. Stock des Hancock Towers und das „Ledge im Skydeck Chicago”, ein freihängender Glaskasten auf 414 Metern Höhe im Willis Tower, in dem man “in der Luft” über Chicago steht.

Draußen sein stand bei diesem Trip also nicht an erster Stelle.

Signature Room

View from the Signature Room / Blick vom Signature Room

Skydeck - The Ledge

Skydeck Chicago – The Ledge

Skydeck Chicago

And I did get comfortable after a while – Nach einer Weile hatte ich mich doch dran gewöhnt.

-10 Fahrenheit

Chicago River. This is what -10 Fahrenheit looks like. Can you imagine how it feels?

Chicago River. Und so sehen -23 Grad aus. Könnt ihr euch vorstellen, wie es sich anfühlt?

Leave a Reply

