My Boston Marathon Journey

As we’re nearing the anniversary of the Boston Marathon bombings, I’m sitting here reflecting. After the attacks last year, I was emotionally disturbed, not able to function for almost an entire week, and the events certainly changed the meaning of Patriots’ Day in Massachusetts forever. Since I moved to Boston in the summer of 2005, I have made this city my home and just couldn’t believe anything closely possible to what happened in the early afternoon of April 15th, 2013.

What many of us runners did was go for a run to digest what had happened. So did I. One day, I went down to Boylston Street to find it all deserted and fenced off, and it gave me shivers. Shortly after, I signed up for my next half marathon because I was determined that this would not stop me. Hell, even the Yankees loved us for a while. I kept going and at the end of the year decided to apply for one of the 10 coveted invitational numbers from the Somerville Road Runners to run the Boston Marathon, my first marathon ever. And I got one.

And one hell of a journey it has been. I had it all figured out. My training plan was all set. I knew exactly what I was supposed to do and got started in late December. And then stuff happened. I was already doing 40-mile weeks by mid-January with speed work, long runs and hills when suddenly my foot started hurting. Damn. I was forced to drastically cut my weekly mileage and adjust my training plan.

With lots of advice from our coach, telling me that I could still do it, I cross-trained with pool running (boring!) and slowly started to come back. But it was hard. The winter was awful. I had my doubts. I also had to re-think my time goal and lower my expectations. Last weekend, we all did a training run on the course with lots of other runners. It was like a mini preview of race day full of energy. All nervous, I completed my first 21-miler and felt strong at the end.

I’m more confident now that I can do this. With over 500 miles logged this year, I’ve done everything I could to be prepared for the big day. And now a nasty cold has forced me into an early taper. Who knows what happens on race day but I think I’m ready for this. Go Boston, go Somerville Road Runners, I’ll see you at the finish line.

Image

How many times does this happen? Wie oft passiert das?

Image

April 18th, 2013. City of Somerville candlelight vigil.  Gedenkfeier der Stadt Somerville am 18. April 2013.

Image

April 26, 2013. Boston remembers. Copley Square. 26. April 2013. Boston gedenkt. Copley Square.

Image

I’ve gone through all with the exception of running before dawn. Ich habe alle durch außer in der Morgendämmerung zu laufen.

Image

And so we move on… Und es geht weiter…

Der Jahrestag des Anschlags auf den Boston Marathon rückt immer näher, und so sitze ich nun hier und denke nach. Nach den Ereignissen letztes Jahr war ich ganz verstört und es ging fast eine ganze Woche gar nichts. Patriots’ Day in Massachusetts wird nie mehr so sein wie vorher. Seit meinem Umzug im Sommer 2005 nach Boston ist das auch meine Stadt geworden und ich konnte mir nicht ansatzweise vorstellen, was am frühen Nachmittag des 15. Aprils 2013 passieren sollte.

Viele Läufer gingen laufen, um die Geschehnisse zu verarbeiten. Ich auch. An einem Tag ging ich zur Boylston Street, fand diese menschenleer und abgezäunt vor und bekam Gänsehaut. Kurz danach meldete ich mich für meinen nächsten Halbmarathon an, denn ich war fest entschlossen, dass mich das nicht abhalten würde. Mensch, sogar die Yankees mochten uns eine Weile lang. Ich lief weiter und entschied Ende des Jahres, mich für eine der begehrten 10 Startnummern der Somerville Road Runners für den Boston Marathon (mein erster Marathon) zu bewerben. Und ich bekam eine.

Und was für ein Weg war das bisher. Ich hatte alles durchdacht. Mein Trainingsplan stand. Ich wusste genau, was ich machen sollte und fing Ende Dezember an. Und dann kam einiges dazwischen. Mitte Januar war ich schon bei über 60 km die Woche angelangt, mit Intervalltraining, langen Läufen und Bergen, als plötzlich mein Fuß weh tat. Scheiße. Ich war gezwungen, meine Kilometer drastisch zu drosseln und meinen Trainingsplan anzupassen.

Nachdem unser Trainer mir viele Tipps gab und mir Mut zusprach, dass ich das schaffen würde, begann ich mit Crosstraining und “Pool Running” (Laufen im Becken, super langweilig) und kam langsam wieder zurück. Aber es war anstrengend. Und der Winter war schrecklich. Ich hatte meine Zweifel. Ich musste auch über meine Wunschzeit nachdenken und meine Erwartungen senken. Letztes Wochenende nahmen wir mit vielen anderen Läufern an einem Probelauf auf der Marathonstrecke teil. Es war wie eine Mini-Vorschau des Marathons voller Energie. Voller Nervosität bewältigte ich ~34 km und fühlte mich gut am Ende.

Ich habe jetzt mehr Zuversicht, dass ich das kann. Mit über 800 km dieses Jahr habe ich alles getan, was ich konnte, um mich auf den großen Tag vorzubereiten. Und jetzt zwingt mich eine fiese Erkältung in einer frühere Reduzierung meines Trainingsumfangs. Wer weiß, wie der große Tag abläuft, aber ich denke, dass ich bereit bin. Go Boston, go Somerville Road Runners. Wir sehen uns im Ziel.

Leave a Reply

