Making Peace On The Battle Road Trail

Ever since we moved to our new house last October, my commute has been awful. You wouldn’t think that 17.8 miles is a long way but in greater Boston it is. An hour is often the norm. My record so far was 1.5 hours one morning and 2+ hours during a snowstorm. I know many people have it much worse, especially those commuting from New Hampshire but I used to have a low key 25-minute bike ride. Now I have road rage. Matt tells me to relax but I have a hard time. So I try to find ways to live with it.

A good way to avoid the traffic is to go for a run after work. Afterwards, the roads are mostly clear, and I can just zip home. Many roads in Lexington outside of the center have no sidewalks (or they suddenly stop), and I really don’t feel that comfortable running next to all the cars there. After the brutal winter, I finally figured out a good route, at least as long as there’s enough daylight. Now, my destination after a day at the office is the Battle Road Trail at the Minuteman National Historic Park, about 3 miles away.

The Battle Road Trail is a 5-mile trail that “connects historic sites from Meriam’s Corner in Concord to the eastern boundary of the park in Lexington” with the main theme being the battle of April 19, 1775 between the British and the Americans, which launched the American Revolution. Part of the trail’s meaning is also to interpret “the broader human story of the people whose lives were altered by the events that took place here”. I usually start at the Paul Revere Capture Site where he was stopped by British soldiers after his famous midnight ride.

While running on the trail, you can see original remnants of the Battle Road but also enjoy farming fields, wetlands, and forests. You can run any distance going across or out and back. I even found a water stop at the Meriam House. This week, I saw a deer. It is so peaceful there while I can unwind from work and not worry about traffic. Along the way, you also encounter mile markers telling how far you are from Boston Harbor. I really like the park! How much better does it get than running along historic sites, thinking about Paul Revere, and getting a good workout?

Or, like Sarah Palin said, thinking about how he actually warned the British? 🙂 Stephen Colbert: Paul Revere’s Famous Ride

Trail

Source/Quelle

Seitdem wir letzten Oktober in unser neues Haus gezogen sind, ist mein Fahrtweg fürchterlich. Man denkt nicht, dass ~29 km so lange dauern können, aber im Großraum Boston ist das so. Eine Stunde ist oft normal. Mein Rekord war bisher 1,5 Stunden an einem Morgen und über 2 Stunden während eines Schneesturms. Ich weiß, dass es für manche Leute viel schlimmer ist, ganz besonders für die, die von New Hampshire pendeln, aber ich war lockere 25 Minuten mit dem Fahrrad gewohnt. Jetzt werde ich zum Tier hinterm Steuer. Matt sagt mir, dass ich mich entspannen soll, aber das ist schwer. Also finde ich Wege, damit zu leben.

Eine gute Möglichkeit, den Verkehr zu umgehen, ist nach der Arbeit laufen zu gehen. Danach ist der Stau weg und ich bin schnell zu Hause. Viele Straßen in Lexington außerhalb des Zentrums haben keine Bürgersteige (oder hören plötzlich auf), und ich fühle mich da echt nicht so wohl, wenn ich direkt neben den Autos laufe. Nach dem brutal Winter habe ich endlich eine gute Route gefunden, wenigstens solange es abends lange hell ist. Jetzt gehe ich nach einem Tag im Büro auf den Battle Road Trail im Minuteman National Historical Park, ca. 5 km weg.

Der Battle Road Trail ist 8 km lang und verbindet historische Stellen von Meriam’s Corner in Concord bis hin zur östlichen Grenze des Parks in Lexington mit der Schlacht vom 19. April 1775 zwischen den Briten und den Amerikanern, mit der die amerikanische Revolution begann, als Hauptthema. Teil des Wegs ist auch die Interpretation der weiteren Geschichte der Leute, deren Leben sich durch die hier stattgefundenen Ereignisse veränderte. Ich beginne oft an der Paul Revere Capture Site, wo Paul Revere von britischen Soldaten nach seinem berühmten Mitternachtsritt angehalten wurde.

Wenn man auf dem Weg läuft, sieht man originale Überreste der Battle Road, kommt aber auch an schönen Feldern, Auen und Wäldern vorbei. Man kann alle möglichen Strecken laufen, entweder einmal quer oder hin und zurück. Ich habe sogar einen Wasserspender beim Meriam-Haus entdeckt. Diese Woche hab ich ein Reh gesehen. Es ist da so ruhig; man kann sich von der Arbeit entspannen und muss sich nicht mit Stau rumplagen. Auf dem ganzen Weg befinden sich auch Meilensteine, auf denen steht, wie weit man vom Hafen in Boston entfernt ist. Ich finde den Park echt toll! Was gibt es Besseres als an Geschichte vorbeizulaufen, an Paul Revere zu denken und Sport zu machen?

Oder, wie Sarah Palin bereits sagte, man kann daran denken, wie er eigentlich die Briten warnte? 🙂 Stephen Colbert: Paul Reveres berühmter Ritt

3 thoughts on “Making Peace On The Battle Road Trail

      1. Melissa

        me too, but john oliver has an HBO show which is a little more biting than colbert’s show. i think you can watch it on youtube! it’s really funny.

Leave a Reply

