Of Bison And Men: Wildlife in Yellowstone

One of the wonders of Yellowstone National Park is seeing all the wildlife that’s out there. Some animals are right there, others you might not see at all. A main area for watching wildlife is the Hayden Valley, and you know there’s something once you find yourself bumper to bumper. The most common animals to see in the park are bison. They are huge. And they don’t care if you’re there. You might see them right next to your car. The park warns you that you shouldn’t get too close to them. So zoom in and enjoy the show.

Next to the Hayden Valley in the middle of the park, the more remote Lamar Valley in the north offers more bison but also other wildlife, such as pronghorns. My friend Undine had told me about them, and I got very excited when I finally saw them. They’re beautiful and apparently the fastest animals in the park. We saw herds of bison in the Lamar Valley far away from the road and one on the trail. I actually found that a little scary, and we had to keep our distance.

During one of the lovely evening ranger programs at our campground, we also learned about the history of wolves in Yellowstone. As a major predator, wolves were once considered bad and hunted to extinction in the 1920s. Since everything is connected to everything else, people didn’t realize what snowball effect that would have on the overpopulation of other species, such as elk who would then eat everything in the park. In the 1990s, wolves were reintroduced and are once again part of the greater Yellowstone ecosystem.

I’m kind of ridiculously crazy about moose. I just find them fascinating. When I saw my first moose in 2013 on my birthday while skiing in Vermont, I couldn’t have wished for a better birthday gift. Hell yeah, I even have one pair of moose socks (thanks, Melissa) and a moose mug. We were promised moose in the Tetons and in Yellowstone but didn’t get to see any. Nevertheless, I’m happy with what we saw though: bison, elks, pikas, pronghorns, one coyote, one weasel, deer, black bears, and marmots. I guess I have to go to Maine again…

Hayden Valley - Haydental

Hayden Valley – Haydental

Deer hanging out. Rehe hängen ab.

Deer hanging out. Rehe/Hirsche hängen ab.

Eins der Wunder im Yellowstone Nationalpark sind die wilden Tiere, die es dort gibt. Manche sind gleich da, andere sieht man wahrscheinlich nicht. Eine Hauptgegend, um wilde Tiere zu sehen, ist das Haydental und man weiß, wenn da was ist, sobald man im Stau steht. Die häufigsten Tiere im Park sind Bisons, eine Büffelart. Sie sind riesig. Und ihnen ist es egal, dass man da ist. Man sieht sie vielleicht direkt neben dem Auto. Der Park warnt davor, dass man ihnen nicht zu nahe kommen soll. Also, Zoom an und genießen.

Neben dem Haydental in der Mitte des Parks hat das abgelegenere Lamartal im Norden weitere Bisons zu bieten, aber auch andere wilde Tiere, wie z.B. Gabelböcke. Meine Freundin Undine hatte mir davon erzählt und ich war ganz aufgeregt, als ich sie zum ersten Mal sah. Sie sind schön und angeblich die schnellsten Tiere im Park. Wir sahen Bisonherden in Lamartal, weit weg von der Straße und auch einen auf dem Wanderweg. Da hatte ich echt ein bisschen Schiss und wir haben einen großen Bogen um ihn gemacht.

Während eines der tollen Rangerprogramme auf unserem Campingplatz haben wir auch etwas über die Geschichte der Wölfe in Yellowstone gelernt. Als wichtiges Raubtier wurden Wölfe früher als schlecht angesehen und bis zum Aussterben in den 20er Jahren gejagt. Da alles mit allem verbunden ist, war den Leuten nicht klar, welchen Schneeballeffekt das auf die Überbevölkerung anderer Tiere haben würde, z.B. die Elche, die dann alles andere im Park fraßen. In den 90ern wurden Wölfe wieder eingeführt und sind nun erneut Teil des größeren Ökosystems in Yellowstone.

Ich bin etwas verrückt, was Moose (amerikanische Elche) angeht. Ich finde sie einfach faszinierend. Als ich meinen ersten amerikanischen Elch 2013 an meinem Geburtstag beim Skifahren in Vermont sah, hätte ich mir kein besseres Geburtstagsgeschenk wünschen können. Ey Mann, ich hab sogar Moose-Socken (danke, Melissa) und eine Moose-Tasse. Uns wurden in den Tetons und in Yellowstone Moose versprochen, aber wir haben keine gesehen. Ich bin trotzdem froh über das, was wir gesehen haben: Bisons, Elche, Pikas (Pfeifhasen), Gabelböcke, einen Kojoten, ein Wiesel, Rehe, Schwarzbären und Murmeltiere. Da muss ich halt wieder nach Maine fahren…

Bison herd in the Lamar Valley (includes babies). Bisonherde im Lamartal (inklusive Babys).

Bison herd in the Lamar Valley (including babies). Bisonherde im Lamartal (inklusive Babys).

Pronghorns, Lamar Valley. Gabelböcke, Lamartal.

Pronghorns, Lamar Valley. Aren’t they beautiful? Gabelböcke, Lamartal. Sind die nicht schön?

The only moose I got to see. Das einzige Moose, was ich zu sehen bekam.

The only moose I got to see. Das einzige Moose, das ich zu sehen bekam.

2 thoughts on “Of Bison And Men: Wildlife in Yellowstone

  1. Undine Urbach

    Lovely dear Evsche for mentioning me in your blog, it’s a great honor!! Dickschtes of all the Bussi’s from your dear friend far away in Schlitzaugencountry Up Up And Away

    Reply

Leave a Reply

